Home Pharmacy practice California Pharmacists Association Announces New President and Appoints 2021-2022 Board of Directors

California Pharmacists Association Announces New President and Appoints 2021-2022 Board of Directors


SACRAMENTO, Calif .– (COMMERCIAL THREAD) – The California Pharmacists Association (CPhA) today announced that Richard H. Dang, PharmD, APh, BCACP, FCPhA, has been appointed president of the association on September 11, 2021 at the annual business meeting of the CPhA House of Delegates held in Sacramento, California. Currently, Dr Dang is an Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Director of the Residency Program at the School of Pharmacy at the University of Southern California (USC). He is chairman of the CPhA COVID-19 task force and a member of the California State COVID-19 testing task force. He also led the implementation of the COVID-19 vaccine distribution in Los Angeles as a member of the Los Angeles City Vaccine Planning Group.

“We are grateful that Dr. Dang is assuming this role,” said Susan A. Bonilla, CEO of CPhA. “Dr. Dang has been an active and involved member of CPhA for many years, and the association will benefit from his expertise and leadership over the next year.

Dr Dang received his doctorate in pharmacy from the USC School of Pharmacy. He was named CPhA Fellow in 2021 and was chosen as CPhA New Practitioner of the Year 2018. In 2017, he became the first pharmacist in California to receive an advanced practice pharmacist license. He was recently honored as an Outstanding Healthcare Innovator by the Los Angeles Business Journal.

The following officers and administrators joined Dr. Dang on the CPhA Board of Directors who were seated in their respective offices during the ceremony:

Clifford Young, RPh, Past President

Michael Conner, PharmD, President-elect

Ethan Huynh, PharmD, BCGP, Treasurer

Melissa Kimura, PharmD, Speaker of the House of Delegates

Jennifer Courtney, PharmD, President-elect of the House of Delegates

David Truong, PharmD, MS, administrator

Edith Mirzaian, PharmD, BCACP, Fiduciary

Eva Ung, PharmD, APh, Trustee

Micah Hata, PharmD, Administrator

Samuel Lee, PharmD, Trustee

Randy Nguyen, pharmacy student, trustee

About the CPhA

The California Pharmacists Association (CPhA) is the nation’s largest statewide trade association for pharmacists, pharmacy students, and pharmacy technicians. CPhA represents the pharmacy profession in all practice settings and promotes the health of the public through the practice of pharmacy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here